Monday, January 31, 2011

Class Stands

EEE??? First expression on people’s faces: :O this and then :/. Then :D, all the best! Hell ya! I m in EEE and still surviving strong! :D :P wanna  have a slice of the cake? Come to ESB block! :P somehow the EEE class is not what you think it is!

First thing, it has very few but interesting girls. The ratio is pretty bad, around 10 girls for 50 guys. So the blue nail polishes which are a frequent “surprise”, (leaving me taken aback) do stand out! And the relief that follows when the blue changes to a shocking pink is not pretty comprehensible by the other department ppl. ;) :D

You wanna meet some of the highest brains of the campus?? U r in the right place. Seemingly light hearted, the brains continuously squirming with activity, these ppl are a constant surprise. Nerds, fun-people, fashionable people, flirts(!!!), name it and you have it! :D and ofcourse colours!! ;)

If its lab day, its all the more fun. Every single poor soul is worried about it. And the last time writers who scribble away in a hurry are a frequent sight. No time back at hostel, hum bi bachen hi to hain!, they say. Lets look at what the teachers say to this: What did they tell u when u joined EEE, ma? :P inspite of all the misery, labs are fun too. The viva is very alien. So by the end of it, the doubt as to whether u say “ma’ for girls or guys is very understandable!!! :D

Well, now who said EEE=Energy Extracting Engineering??? (Well I just came up with that.) its just as much fun. The language teaching-learning process is the age old prank people still play. A couple of days ago, I heard the tamil guys teaching a paavum hindi guy that the bus conductor is called “beyimaani”. And to add to it they were enumerating a very interesting tale of how some ECE guy said “fa-ki-yu” to teachers for a whole semester without realizing what he was actually saying. Well, he thought he was wishing them. I shuddered to think what collateral damage it would have been if one of the teachers had figured it out! The evil ones of my class. But whats the fun if you are soo good all the time?! ;)

Still think EEE is hard? No way! Now I say, “Welcome to EEE”. :D

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Petty Issues!


The war again! Me asking, arguing, fighting, begging mom to let me have a pet! I don’t know why parents don’t understand. Uph! First I started out strong saying I want a puppy. Straight denial, added with a look of “good joke, go mind your business!”. Yet, I ventured to try again today, saying I want a turtle. Well, I have been certified to be mad. :D but then, I cant say I am really bothered. :P

So today, I have decided: I am gonna sneak in a pet one fine day. I was suddenly reminded of the day when I brought home a homeless kitty which was meowing pitifully on the road as I made my way back home from the bus stop. That day, I was in a fix as to what to feed it. Barely a week old, the olive-sized eyes were the only attractive part of the skinny thing. It’s cries made me anxious, for I had no idea what I should feed it. A saucer of milk was the first thing that came to my mind. But it wouldnt drink it and continued to meow, loudly this time. Then I called up a friend who once had a cat in the house. I drew a blank there too. I was told, the kitten is too young and that he had no idea what it could drink. Then came the moment I most dreaded. The calling bell! I got so badly scolded for bringing it home in the first place. Not having much choice I left it back at the same place I found it. :( :(

Normally that would have been the end of it, but not this time. A couple of days later, I found my little friend sitting under my two-wheeler! I was astonished when it recognized me and came out of the shadows, meowing. At the same time I was devastated at how much it had thinned during the time. Well, I had to find it a home. I went around the area looking for an animal home, but no luck! So I took things into my own hands. I went around my apartment looking for a possible home for it in my building. After almost a whole hour of search, a driver agreed to take it home. I thanked him over and over again. :) :)

Now came the tough part, saying bye. :( kitty had made itself comfortable in my arms during the search and wouldn’t leave me! What attachment! With a heavy heart, I bid goodbye to the short but very sweet friendship.
Posted by Picasa

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Machines Lab!!!


Date : ?
Exp : ?

Aim : To perform any experiment in machines lab II

Components Required : 1 student per group who answers most viva questions

Apparatus Required : BLT, observation-notebook, calc

Theory : Blank in class. So try to understand the machines and their minds. I just lost it.

Procedure :

  1. Enter lab on time.
  2. Blink during viva. Manage to get one answer right.
  3. Search for the rest on BLT, then complete viva. This step is purely upto the component to complete.
  4. Wait for the component to complete circuitry.
  5. Take readings.
  6. Get re-do.
  7. Copy reading from guiding manual.
  8. Get attestation.
  9. Exit lab.

Result : The given experiment was executed successfully and the graphs were plotted

Friday, January 14, 2011

Friends & Distance

A recent conversation about whether “long distance relationships last” took a very interesting turn with me giving it a new angle. While my friends were divided on whether it can work, I asked them what their opinion would be had the topic been about friendship. All of us were quiet for a while, thinking. As for me, I was thinking bout the last days of school life, when we all frantically filled up slam books, promising to keep in touch no matter how far our destinies took us. Thinking of it now, I can’t help laughing! What a load full of crap! We do keep in touch, like once in a year with a handful of people from school. But does that count as “friends” keeping in touch? It’s been three semesters and the numbers have dwindled since the start from around 10 to 2 right now. So my argument was that the essence of friendship remains with the memories but it does diminish with time when there is a lot of distance and no contact. I mean we meet new people, make new friends and when the older friends don’t keep in touch it really is lost over a period. Maybe for a couple of years we will try and keep talking on the phone, but after that everyone gets bored and suddenly its time to move on. And the phone conversations don’t help after a while when we don’t get to meet. However realistic they maybe, these conversations are still ‘virtual” and need to be supported with real meets and new fun to keep the fond memories going. When these don’t happen, we tend to move with people with whom we really can spend time with. Those who were saying long distance relationships can work were looking helplessly at me. But it’s the truth right?

Then came the stage we all dreaded: what after college? School was fun. But wasn’t really fun when compared to college right? We were more focused at studies back then and I am sure there are a lot of people(like me, I am being honest) who really don’t have much to miss about school life. There was only one choice, to give a promise that we will stay in touch no matter what. A promise, which we all knew would be broken. 


Sunday, January 2, 2011

My life – Part 2010

2010 wasn’t the greatest of years, but it was the year I met/got close with some very important ppl who changed my life forever:

1. At first I thought she wasn’t so very nice, but after I got to know her better, became one of my closest friends. The canteen factor. :D :P

2. Boredom is sometimes good. Once I got soo bored I sent out random friend requests on facebook. One of them clicked to be a very good friend. The 2% luck factor. :P

3. One other friend I got into a slight misunderstanding with, made a big drama of a make up but became quite close to me after that. No looking back after that. :)

4. A classmate for two whole years at school, we never spoke. Now at college, the closest of friends. :) Guess there is a time for everything.

5. An old friend who couldn’t stop talking just academics till recently when I convinced (or rather cajoled) her into staying at my house. :D

5 people who made my life a way better than what it really was. If the past year was anything atall, it was “confused”. One thing I sure learnt was all of us need a test once in a while just to know the people we spend our lives with. Just when I thought maybe one was a friend, most of them gave me a good reason not to think so. At the same time a few others gave a reason to trust them over and over again.  
   
Another observation. When you put up the lines of an amazing song as your status on facebook, that too the ones that are really touching, everyone thinks by default you are in love! Well maybe I just liked the lyrics! :) :)

Then comes the phase when you are getting too close to a  person and need a little space. But all the pushing and struggle doesn’t work when you like that person, and not at all when you do fall for that someone. Feel that way with anyone? My advice: run while you can, if you can’t then please stop running! :) :) 

Another thing I learnt: the art of saying no. Being nice is one thing, but certain things need to be denied. It all depends on how it is put. For starters, no=not yes.

2010 sucked big time, but it did have its peaks. I m happy for all the memories. I have a feeling 2011 is gonna be just fine. For one, 2010 made me a lot wiser if not anything more. :)

PS: for my best friend, ^_^ smiley just rocks, its soo cute! :P